Our Blog

Devotional VLOG

main image

Your staff team has been thinking about how we can further support and encourage one another in this time of social distancing. Pastor Charles Godwin came up with the idea of doing a daily video devotional. 

Each evening after the dinner hour, Monday through Friday, you will receive an email from our Pastor of Congregational Care, Charles Godwin. As many of you already know, Charles is a wonderful blessing to our Central family. Each email will have a link to a short (5 minutes or less) video devotional from one of our staff. Alternatively, you can visit our Vimeo channel or this page and choose from the list below to view any of the already-released videos. We hope that you find these devotionals encouraging, and that they give you a stronger sense of connection to our staff.
 
Thank you for continuing to be part of God’s mission at Central, dear friends. It is a joy to be part of it with you. Keep an eye out for emails from Pastor Charles each evening in the days ahead with a link to your Central Evening Devotional

Devotionals

Monday, March 30 - Charles Godwin

Tuesday, March 31 - Jamie Afshari

Wednesday, April 1 - Clay Smith

Thursday, April 2 - Karen Brown

Friday, April 3 - Ben Tzeng

Monday, April 6 - Tim Page

Tuesday, April 7 - Randy Mayfield

Wednesday, April 8 - Lisa Roth

Thursday, April 9 - Mike Farley

Friday, April 10 - Cole Lescher

Monday, April 13 - Jeff Brown

Tuesday, April 14 - Charles Godwin

Wednesday, April 15 - Matt Woodson

Thursday, April 16 - Matt Mazzoni

Friday, April 17 - Message from Pastor Clay

Monday, April 20 - Karen Brown

Tuesday, April 21 - Ben Tzeng

Wednesday, April 22 - Lisa Roth

Thursday, April 23 - Randy Mayfield

Friday, April 24 - Jaime Afshari

Monday, April 27 - Tim Page

Tuesday, April 28 - Mike Farley

Wednesday, April 29 - Cole Lescher

Thursday, April 30 - Jeff Brown

Friday, May 1 - Matt Mazzoni

Monday, May 4 - Matt Woodson

Tuesday, May 5 - Charles Godwin

Thursday, May 7 - Ben Tzeng

Friday, May 8 - Clay Smith

Monday, May 11 - Tim Page 

Wednesday, May 13 - Randy Mayfield

Thursday, May 14 - Mike Farley

Friday, May 15 - Cole Lescher

Monday, May 18 - Charles Godwin

Tuesday, May 19 - Lisa Roth

Wednesday, May 20 - Nathan Burgess

 

Monday, May 25 - Christan Perrona

Tuesday, May 26 - Ben Tzeng

Wednesday, May 27 - Cole Lescher

in Bible

Bible Reading Plan

If you were following along with our Bible reading plan in InfoCentral, you might be missing which scripture passages you need to read. We want to encourage everyone to continue reading scripture especially now in this difficult time, so enjoy this complete reading plan below!

Bible Reading Plan

COVID-19 Update

Dear Church Family,

As the outbreak of the coronavirus (COVID-19) continues, we – and indeed the entire globe - find ourselves wrestling with a health pandemic of concerning scale and impact. While only time will tell us how widespread the situation really is, what seems very clear at present is that we must prayerfully discern how to best care for and minister to our Central congregation and our community in general. As Christians, we know we need not be afraid, but it is important that we exercise both wisdom and prudence. Please know of my personal prayers for all of you in this regard.

The health and welfare of our members, staff, and neighbors are of paramount importance. Our objective is to love our community as Christ loves us – especially those among us who are most vulnerable to this disease. With this in mind, Central’s leadership has made a series of proactive decisions:

Sunday Worship

  • St. Louis County has declared a state of emergency, prohibiting all gathering of 250 people or more. As a result, worship this Sunday is “ONLINE ONLY” via our Livestream 
  • The service will stream “live” at 8:30 a.m., and then will be available for viewing again anytime after that service concludes.
  • The church will be “closed” for worship and all other activities this Sunday.
  • As you set up your “Live Stream” at home, you might consider joining with a small group while practicing “social distancing.”
  • You can continue to make your tithes and offerings online, via text, or via U.S. Mail. For full details, please visit our giving page.

For the week of March 16-21:

  • All on-campus ministry events are suspended, including Equip Central, bible studies, and group meetings.
  • Our kitchen will be closed for the week, with no food services provided.

If you need particular spiritual care during this challenging season, our congregational care team would love to hear from you. Send us an email at and one of our pastors or shepherds will be in touch.

We anticipate that these changes are temporary, and intend to go back to our regular ministry schedules as soon as possible. To help inform any future decisions about our various ministry schedules, we have formed a Health Advisory Team with several of our Central medical professionals. That team is helping us stay on top of the situation through their expertise and access to current information. We are truly blessed to have such wonderful and generous resources among our church family.

In closing, dear friends, I pray that the Lord would draw near to each of us in a special way right now. As we talked about Romans 8 last week in worship, it is not lost on me that God can use even this to bring about his good purposes. Please join with me in prayer to that end. Let us also continue in prayer for those currently afflicted with the virus, those impacted by the many cancellations across the country, the many medical professionals serving in these difficult circumstances, and of course for the Central community and St. Louis region. May the Lord of all mercy bless and protect us. To Christ be all glory.

With great affection in Christ for each of you,

Pastor Clay

Posted by Clay Smith with 1 Comments

12345678910 ... 1920